The Big Brick Review - News

Building on the narrative of our lives...one brick at a time.

 

  2016.12.01: Publishing Alert! The Big Brick Review proudly publishes the winners in our Second Annual Essay Contest. Read The Review online here.

  2016.07.02: Publishing Alert! The Big Brick Review welcomes guest essay Old Men On Bicycles by Marty Nott. Full essay available online here.

  2016.05.31: Construction Alert! The Big Brick Review proudly announces the winners in our Second Annual Essay Contest. Read the names of the winning essays and authors online here.

  2016.01.28: Publishing Alert! 11 Sundry Bricks (exceptional essays, carefully selected from our 2015 summer open submissions window), are now available online here.

  2015.10.15: Construction Alert! The Big Brick Review Second Annual Essay Contest is now accepting entries through February 17, 2015. Contest details available online here.

  2015.09.30: Construction Alert! Issue 2 of The Big Brick Review, which features winning essays from the 2015 First Annual Essay Contest, is now available online here.

  2015.07.15: Construction Alert! Two weeks left for open submissions in our summer 2015 reading period. Selected pieces will be published on The Big Brick Review online here.

  2015.05.30: Construction Alert! The Big Brick Review proudly announces the winners in our First Annual Essay Contest. Read the names of the winning essays and authors online here.

  2015.05.02: Publishing Alert! The Big Brick Review proudly announces the publication of the latest Little Brick by Geoffrey Neil: Come On Billy, Light My Fire. Check it out online here.

  2015.03.20: Publishing Alert! The Big Brick Review proudly announces the publication of the latest Little Brick by Patricia Roth-Schwartz: En-Pointe. Check it out online here.

  2015.01.26: Publishing Alert! The Big Brick Review proudly announces the publication of the latest Little Brick by Peter Teall: Trees and Dogs. Check it out online here.

  2015.01.20: Construction Alert! Our latest mailing includes news and photos on The Big Brick Review launch party (Jan 9, 2015), annual essay contest (deadline Feb 17, 2015), editor interview on Rochester Public Radio (Jan 14, 2015; replay available online), and lots more. Check it out online here.

  2014.12.12: Come celebrate with us at The Big Brick Review publishing party! Free and open to the public, the event takes place from 7 - 8:30 p.m. on Friday evening, January 9, 2015, at Writers & Books in Rochester NY. The evening includes wine, snacks, and readings from some of the Inaugural Issue writers. Event details at W&B Events Calendar.

  2014.10.07: The Big Brick Review launched its inaugural Issue I, featuring celebrated narrative nonfiction writers including Georgia Beers, Susan Bono, Gregory Gerard, Erin Green, Sonja Livingston, Jenny Lloyd, Sejal Shah, and Alison Smith. The next scheduled publication is a February Essay Contest issue.

  2014.09.23: First Annual 2015 Essay Contest now open for submissions. The Big Brick Review seeks personal essays that build on the narrative of our lives, finding new insight to old struggles...old insight to new struggles...and all shades-of-gray in between. For 2015, the contest theme is loosely based on the concept of 'building,' which authors can interpret as creatively as they choose (it's a noun! it's a verb!). Essays must be narrative non-fiction (that is, they must explore a truth of a human experience as interpreted/experienced by the author) and will be judged on overall strength of writing, compelling content/theme, and interesting style/voice. 2015 judges include Georgia Beers, Susan Bono, Gregory Gerard, Sonja Livingston, Alison Smith.

  2014.08.30: A journal is launched! Welcome to The Big Brick Reviewdevoted to supporting narrative non-fiction by serving as a venue for established writers and a springboard for emerging writers. The Big Brick Review seeks personal essays that build on the narrative of our lives, finding new insight to old struggles...old insight to new struggles...and all shades-of-gray in between.